Wine and Crime: Margaret Kirk

Nairn Community & Arts Centre,
7 Sep – 7 Sep

Margaret Kirk writes ‘Highland Noir’ Scottish crime fiction with a gothic twist, set in and around her home town of Inverness. Her debut novel, Shadow Man, won the Good Housekeeping First Novel Competition in 2016. Described as ‘a harrowing and horrific game of consequences’ by Val McDermid, it was published in 2017 by Orion. Book 2 in the DI Lukas Mahler series, What Lies Buried, was published in June 2019.  
Set in Inverness and Orkney, In The Blood was released in 2021. Award-winning Icelandic writer Lilja Sigurdardottir said of it: ‘The Queen of Highland Noir gets spookier and darker with every book!’
Margaret is also the writer of several short stories, including The Seal Singers, published in translation in Germany and Switzerland as Das Lied der Seehunde (Diogenes Verlag). While DI Lukas Mahler takes a well-earned break, Margaret is currently working on the mysteriously-titled ‘New Thing’ …

Adult ticket price includes a glass of wine
Under 18s ticket - wine not included, recommended age 14+

You may also enjoy…