Gerda Stevenson and Colin Bramwell

Nairn Community & Arts Centre,
7 Sep – 7 Sep

beyond by Aonghas MacNeacail

Aonghas MacNeacail (1942-2022) was a major Scottish writer from Skye, described recently in The Scotsmanas ‘a giant of Scotland’s poetry scene’. He was a founding member of the Scottish Poetry Library, winner of the 1997 Stakis Scottish Writer of the Year prize, and recipient of the Saltire Society’s Fletcher of Saltoun Award for contribution to the Arts and Humanities, 2015. His New & Selected Poems, 'laughing at the clock / deanamh gaire ris a' chloc', was shortlisted for the Saltire Society Book of the Year Award, 2012.

beyond is a posthumously published collection of his English-language poems, edited by poet Colin Bramwell with Aonghas’s wife, the writer Gerda Stevenson. Colin will introduce the book and read from it with Gerda.
"And what a great collection it is! What comes through strongly, as well as the love and humour, is the value Aonghas placed on scepticism as a vital human asset.” James Robertson.
“A huge presence in our culture - a necessary one.” Kathleen Jamie.

You may also enjoy…